Thursday March 30, 2023
| Last update: Thursday at 3:39 PM

Communist and Workers Parties condemn intervention in Syria

By staff |
June 28, 2013
Read more articles in
Participants in the International Communist Seminar
Participants in the International Communist Seminar (Fight Back! News/Staff)

Fight Back News Service is circulating the following resolution on Syria that was signed by many of the parties present at the 22nd International Communist Seminar. Freedom Road Socialist Organization was among the signers.

Resolution on Syria

We, the undersigned parties present at the 22nd International Communist Seminar

1) reaffirm that the subversive policies and activities of imperialism in order to impose its hegemony in the Middle East are the main reason behind all conflicts, tensions and wars in the region. US and EU imperialism and the NATO, along with Israel and the pro-imperialist reactionary regimes of the region (such as Turkey, Qatar, Saudi Arabia) share a common responsibility for the crimes against the peoples of the region.

2) condemn the instrumentalization by imperialism and its allies in the region of inter-religious divergences and conflicts. Imperialism intervenes brutally in the internal affairs of states, supporting domestic reactionary forces, and does not hesitate to intervene directly, supporting provocative fundamentalist and terrorist organisations under the pretext of “humanitarian interventions”.

3) condemn the Israeli military aggression against Syria, in blatant violation of international law and condemn imperialism’s unconditional support for these bellicose acts.

4) support the absolute right of the Syrian people, who suffer from subversive attacks and terrorist actions supported by imperialism and the reactionary regimes of the region, to determine their political path and leadership without any foreign interference. We declare our complete and unreserved solidarity with the people of Syria.

1. Algeria, Parti Algérien pour la Démocratie et le Socialisme (PADS)
2. Azerbaijan, Communist Party of Azerbaijan
3. Belarus, Belarussian Communist Workers’ Party
4. Belgium, Workers' Party of Belgium (PTB)
5. Bénin, Parti Communiste du Bénin
6. Brazil, Communist Party of Brazil (PCdoB)
7. Brazil, Partido Patria Livre (PPL)
8. Bulgaria, Party of Bulgarian Communists
9. Cyprus, Progressive Party of the Working People (AKEL)
10. Denmark, Communist Party of Denmark
11. France, Union des Révolutionnaires Communistes de France (URCF)
12. France, Pôle de Renaissance Communiste en France (PRCF)
13. Germany, German Communist Party (DKP)
14. Greece, Communist Party of Greece (KKE)
15. Hungary, Hungarian Workers' Party
16. Iran, Tudeh Party of Iran
17. Ireland, Workers' Party of Ireland
18. Lebanon, Lebanese Communist Party
19. Luxembourg, Communist Party of Luxembourg (KPL)
20. Malta, Communist Party of Malta
21. Mexico, Partido Popular Socialista de México
22. Netherlands, New Communist Pary of Netherlands (NCPN)
23. Palestine, Palestinian Communist Party
24. Philippines, Communist Party of the Philippines
25. Portugal, Portuguese Communist Party
26. Serbia, New Communist Party of Yugoslavia
27. South Sudan, Communist Party of South Sudan
28. Spain, Communist Party of Spain (PCE)
29. Spain, Spanish Communist Workers' Party (PCOE)
30. Sri Lanka, People's Liberation Front - JVP
31. Sweden, Communist Party (KP)
32. Switzerland, Parti Suisse du Travail
33. Tunisia, Parti des Patriotes et Démocrates Uni
34. Turkey, Communist Party of Turkey (TKP)
35. USA, Freedom Road Socialist Organization (FRSO)
36. Venezuela, Communist Party of Venezuela (PCV)