Wednesday July 28, 2021
| Last update: Tuesday at 10:52 AM

Fantastic program, speaker line up for May 20 NATO protest

Jesse Jackson and Carlos Montes among speakers
By staff |
May 11, 2012
Read more articles in

Chicago, IL – The Coalition Against NATO/G8 War And Poverty Agenda (CANG8), which is spearheading the massive march on the NATO summit May 20, has announced the speakers and cultural performers who will be on stage during the protest.

“It is a great lineup of speakers that reflects the broad protest we are organizing against the NATO war makers,” says Joe Iosbaker of CANG8.

Among the speakers will be Carlos Montes, the veteran Chicano anti-war activist who will go on trial in Los Angles, May 15. A contingent organized by the Committee to Stop FBI Repression will participate in the march, demanding charges against Montes be dropped.

Cultural performers at the protest will include Tom Morello and Rebel Diaz, as well as the Anti-Eviction Campaign and Southside Together Organized for Power performers Fearless Leading by the Youth; Frank Mu and Mic Terrist.

The speakers list includes;
Rev. Jesse Jackson - Rainbow PUSH Coalition
Ann Wright - retired colonel, US Army
Armando Robles - United Electrical workers
Carlos Montes - Committee to Stop FBI Repression
Chicago Teachers Union
Hatem Abudayyeh – U.S. Palestinian Community Network
Inge Höger - Member of European Parliament
Iraq Veterans Against the War
Jean Ross - National Nurses United
Kathy Kelly – Voices for Creative Nonviolence
Malik Mujahid - Muslim Peace Coalition
Medea Benjamin - Code Pink
Mumia Abu Jamal
Vijay Prashad – author
Abayomi Azikiwe - Pan African News Wire
Ahmed Shawki - Egypt Solidarity Campaign
Alison Bodine - Mobilization Against War and Occupation, Vancouver
Angela Walker - Amalgamated Transit Union
Bernadette Ellorin - BAYAN
Bruce Dixon - Black Agenda Report
Chris Gavreau - United National Antiwar Coalition
Coalition to March on the RNC
Crystal Vance Guerra - Occupy El Barrio
Dave Schneider - Students for a Democratic Society
Gay Liberation Network
Jes Cook - UIC Graduate Employees Organization
Kari Fulton – Environmental Justice Network
Kathleen Desautels - 8th Day Center for Justice
Larry Holmes - International Action Center, NYC
Leah Bolger – Vets for Peace
Luis Gutierrez-Esparza - No to War-No to NATO, Mexico
Malalai Joya - former member of Afghan parliament
Maria Pizarro - immigrant rights activist
Martin Unzueta - Chicago Community and Workers Rights
Meredith Aby - Twin Cities Anti-War Committee
Michelle Morales - National Boricua Human Rights Network
N'Dana Carter - Southside Together Organizing for Power
Newland Smith - Interfaith Committee CANG8
Reiner Braun - No to War-No to NATO, Germany
Rick Rozoff - Stop NATO
Said Umar Khan - Pakistan Federation of America
Sarah Finkl - Pilsen Environmental Rights & Reform Organization
Stan Willis- National Coalition of Black Lawyers
Tania Unzueta - Immigrant Youth Justice League
Zoe Sigman - Occupy Chicago

The emcees will include:
Andy Thayer - Chicago Coalition Against War & Racism
Gihad Ali – US Palestinian Community Network
Joe Iosbaker - United National Antiwar Coalition
Joe Lombardo - United National Antiwar Coalition
Keeanga Taylor - Chicago Anti-Eviction Campaign
Pat Hunt - Chicago Area Code Pink